How I choose sides like it’s 1934

The best way to be sure that 2017 is not 1934 is to act as though it were. —Adam Gopnik

nyt-8-20-1934

New York Times, August 20, 1934.

Jeremy Freese observed back in November:

These are both true. Racism, xenophobia, misogyny, suppression of dissent, these are not new. But Trump and Trumpism also represent a turn toward all that plus an assault on constitutional democracy. It’s the resurgence of the bad side of America plus a new authoritarianism that makes it harder to resist the normal bad. I don’t need to detail this here, but I’ll quote a little more from Gopnik:

Assaults on free speech; the imprisoning of critics and dissidents; attempts, on the Russian model, likely to begin soon, to intimidate critics of the regime with fake charges and conjured-up allegations; the intimidation and intolerance of even mild dissidence (that “Apologize!” tweet directed at members of the “Hamilton” cast who dared to politely petition Mike Pence); not to mention mass deportations or attempts at discrimination by religion—all things that the Trump and his cohorts have openly contemplated or even promised—are not part of the normal oscillations of power and policy. They are unprecedented and, history tells us, likely to be almost impossible to reverse.

So, what does that mean? I think it means we take Gopnik’s advice and act like this is 1934. And John Lewis is right. If that turns out to be wrong — a false-positive read on the catastrophicness of the situation — that’s a better mistake to make than the false-negative mistake of not taking it seriously enough until it’s too late.

It means we need new strategic principles. For me, that means drawing a new line through the political landscape: for versus against Trumpism.

Which side are you on

If you are against Trump, you are on my side. Not on my side in every way or every issue, but where it counts most right now. If you’re against abortion rights, against welfare, against environmental protection, I disagree with you on all those things, and I’ll say that when we get a chance to talk. But to the extent that you march against Trump, vote against Trump’s agenda, speak out against Trumpism, or give money to organizations that do those things, you’re on my side.

I want to focus on opposing repression of dissent, corruption (and Putin), police or military abuse, and assaults on democratic norms, especially with regard to freedoms and protection for racial and ethnic minorities and immigrants. If you accidentally say something racist or sexist while you’re speaking out against Trump, we can discuss it on the side. If you support policies I hate on other issues, but you are willing to vote against Trump’s nominees or his agenda, or candidates who back him, I will speak up for you. We will argue about the rest later. And if you’re only weakly against Trump, thank you. I encourage you to stick with it and try to bring someone else along with you.

On the other hand. If you’re poor and your community is being left behind by global capitalism, with rising mortality and drug addiction, disappearing jobs and crumbling infrastructure, but you support Trump and his movement — you are not on my side. I would love to support policies to help people in your situation, and work with members of those communities that oppose Trumpism. But if you’re marching or voting for Trump, or supporting candidates or organizations that do, or fighting against immigrants or democratic institutions, I’m against you. We can work on your problems later.

It’s really bad that it’s come to this, because it means less progress, and real regression, on important issues and policies. But it’s where we are, and the sooner we get out of here, alive, the better. I could be wrong, and I’m willing to hear why I am. I don’t think you can convince me that this is really business as usual, but I’d love to be wrong on that.

But I don’t want anti-Trumpism to be just another partisan talking point. I’m not calling him a “fascist” just because I don’t like him, or even because I really don’t like him, or because he’s going to sign a repeal of Obamacare. Sure, some Democratic Party partisans are just taking advantage of the panic over Trump to wrangle leverage over the usual issues. Glenn Greenwald is right that some are too credulous about the intelligence dirt on Trump, too trusting of the CIA. But this false equivalency from him shows that he doesn’t take Trumpism as an out-of-bounds threat:

…all of this [Democrats embracing the CIA stuff] illustrates that while the Trump presidency poses grave dangers, so, too, do those who are increasingly unhinged in their flailing, slapdash, and destructive attempts to undermine it.

That’s like saying, “Trump’s Muslim registry poses grave dangers, but so, too, do liberals who think wearing a safety pin makes them awesome anti-racist allies.” That’s out of whack. There has never been a political or electoral majority in America without racists; we’re going to need to be on the same side with a lot of racists to beat Trump and Trumpism. (In the end, though, winning against this might give us a good push in the right direction.)

I know we will see a lot from Republican-controlled government that looks normal-bad, things I would be complaining about if Jeb Bush had won, too. But Gopnik is right to sound the alarm at the collapse of resistance to Trump among “respectable” Republicans. The political alliance between regular Republicans and Trumpist authoritarianism makes for a more powerful rush away from normal awful American politics and toward something that’s hard or impossible to come back from. These are not “the normal oscillations of power and policy.”

In normal times, it can be good strategy to pick fights within the more progressive party in a two-party system, because the majority coalition is all blandness and weak principles, and there’s a lot of room for debate within that. But now, like it’s 1934, we need as big a majority as we can get. That’s what it means to refuse to normalize Trump.

7 Comments

Filed under Politics

7 responses to “How I choose sides like it’s 1934

  1. Chris Wienke

    Well said, and I totally agree.

    Like

  2. I’m glad you wrote this because it is a useful argument to consider. But I’m not sure I agree, exactly. Some of the authoritarianism is Republican Party extremism, not Trumpism from Trump. It’s like he’s emboldened tendencies that were already there and already in play (e.g. the egregious gerrymandering of Wisconsin and North Carolina). I’m trying to decide whether I’m more afraid of Trump or the Republicans using Trump. Would we, for example, be better off if the Republicans find a way to dump Trump quickly and install Pence? I’m not disagreeing about the risk you are citing, because I see that risk, too, and am also very afraid. But I’m not sure that authoritarianism is confined to Trump.

    Trying to abolish trans rights, trying to ban all legal abortion, trying to ban contraceptive services, trying to deport immigrants and restrict voting rights for citizens are authoritarian moves whether you split with Trump or not. For that matter, Antisemitism and White Supremacy are authoritarian positions even if you split with Trump. Trying to decide where coalitions are possible and where not seems ultimately more difficult than you sketch.

    Like

  3. I love the concept of this piece. I have been saying this to all of my friends, “We now have entered the scene in the film where the hostess throws the nazi out of her dinner party.”

    I don’t understand however the “we can work on your problems later” premise regarding the poor, disenfranchised Trump voter. Aren’t we fighting for a better America, better infrastructure, less distance between classes, etc when we fight against Trump? Aren’t we striving to create a new party for the people in our action and resistance? Aren’t we fighting for the disenfranchised voter when we fight for voting rights? When we fight against big oil and corporate greed? I know I’m harping and over simplifying and on a soap box but many of us know a thing or two about disenfranchised voting. Try voting blue in a red state your entire life.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Here's the Olive Branch - Chris Oestereich

  5. It’s quite frightening how deep the divisions in America and Europe have became, that a lot of people who don’t like Trump, hate him, still will support him because they hate progressives more.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Trump blocked me on Twitter and that violates the Constitution | Family Inequality

  7. Pingback: Hitting for the cycle in Trump land | Family Inequality

Comments welcome (may be moderated)

