COVID-19 graphs, with data and code

Updated March 25.

Although I’m not an expert on pandemic analysis, I am naturally following the COVID-19 data as best I can. And because I always understand data better when I make the figures myself, I’ve been making and looking at COVID-19 trend data, and sharing it as I go.

The figures below are the latest I made as of March 18 25 29, but you can click on the images to link to the current version. The figures, as well as data files and code, are in an Open Science Framework project, here: osf.io/wd2n6/, under CC0 license (free to use for any purpose). The project updates automatically as I go, but these figures won’t (because this is an old fashioned blog).

First, across countries:

country cases and deaths

For this one, to put the diverse US in perspective, in included US states in addition to selected countries. These are deaths.

countries and states since 10 deaths

State cases and deaths, per capita:

state cases and death rates bar

Finally, one with commentary: The first month, in numbers and Trump’s winning words:

Microsoft PowerPoint - first month of winning coronavirus.pptx

 

11 thoughts on “COVID-19 graphs, with data and code

  1. I imagine that family and household patterns play at least small role in the cross-country variation. E.g., something like a third of all Italians between the ages of 18 and 34 live with their parents. Many also interact with grandparents. Infected young people with no symptoms may have their elderly loved ones. Conversely, in Sweden, where rates remain comparably low, there are a lot of single person households.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s also notable, I think, that the Swedish and the Japanese are known as formal cultures — whereas the Italians, much the opposite.

      Like

  2. Have you graphed growth rates of the virus vs. political leanings by state? It looks like Republican states might be having more trouble, barring New York.

    Like

Comments welcome (may be moderated)