Me in the Chronicle: How Sociology Can Save Itself

An op-ed I wrote has published in the Chronicle of Higher Education.

Read it here: https://www.chronicle.com/article/how-sociology-can-save-itself. Note the Chronicle has a paywall, but I think you can read the article if you sign up with your email. Also, someone (not me) captured a full-text version, the legality or safety of which I cannot vouch for: https://archive.is/aOPDO.

Here is the conclusion:

Some critics might say public political pronouncements like mine undermine not just my science, but the reputation of sociology as a whole: that we provoked the Florida crackdown because our work is tainted by politics. I can’t prove they’re wrong. But I think the roles of citizen and scholar must ultimately be compatible within the life of an academic. We can speak out on the issues that matter while subjecting our own biases to strict scrutiny. We can tell the world when we know the answers while also admitting when it turns out we’re wrong. We can stand up for inclusive practices on campuses to make access to higher education more equitable without shutting down opposing views. Troubled times call for dedication to high ethical and professional standards. We might not win this round, but I hope sociology will survive. Having a discipline that more strongly embraces science and better communicates its values is a step in the right direction.

Comments welcome (may be moderated)